Baking tear and share garlic bread

I never really make bread, so I’ve wanted to try a few recipes out in hope that it will get me loving making bread more!
This garlic bread recipe is definitely better then getting your standard garlic bread from the shop. Give it a go and let me know in the comments how you got on and if you liked this ūüôā

IMG_1527

IMG_1568

IMG_1573

IMG_1582

INGREDIENTS

For the bread:

  • 375ml (1 1/2 cups) warm water
  • 2¬†teaspoons (7g/1 sachet) dried yeast
  • 2¬†teaspoons caster sugar
  • 525g (3 1/2 cups) plain flour
  • 1¬†teaspoon sea salt flakes
  • Olive oil, to grease

For the filling:

  • 50g of butter
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 80g of feta cheese

METHOD

  1. Step 1

    Combine the water, yeast and sugar in a bowl. Set aside in a warm, draught-free place for 5 minutes or until frothy.

  2. Step 2

    Combine the flour and salt in a large bowl. Make a well in the centre and pour in the yeast mixture. Use a wooden spoon to stir until combined, then use your hands to bring the dough together.

  3. Step 3

    Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 10 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Brush a bowl with oil to grease. Place dough in bowl and cover with plastic wrap or a damp tea towel. Set aside in a warm, draught-free place for 45 minutes or until doubled in size.

  4. Step 4

    Preheat oven to 210¬įC. Brush a¬†pan of your choice (I used a simple baking tray as I wanted a round loaf that was ‘rustic’) with oil to grease. Punch down the centre of the dough with your fist. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 2 minutes or until dough is elastic and has returned to original size.

  5. Step 5

    Place your dough in the pan in the shape you would like your loaf to be. Cover with a damp tea towel or cling film and set aside in a warm, draught-free place to prove for 30 minutes or almost doubled in size.

  6. Step 6

    Bake for 30-35 minutes or until golden and loaf sounds hollow when tapped on the base.

  7. Step 7
    Combine the butter and garlic until it makes a paste.
  8. Step 8
    Cut the bread in a criss cross pattern only cutting down half way so the bread stays together and spread the butter and garlic into the gaps of the bread. Then cut the feta into slices and insert into the gaps.
  9. Step 9
    Put loaf back into the oven for 10 minutes or until feta is slightly melted. Serve warm or at room temperature.

I had this with homemade meatballs and it was so good. I have to admit I made way too much for the two of us so I’ve put the other half in the freezer. I’m not sure how it will freeze but I will let you know when we defrost it!

Please join me on any of my social networking and blogging sites:
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvlPWliHbAPurj9iYiYH8MQ
Twitter: @hopebatchelor
Instagram: @Hopebatchelor1

Follow me and subscribe to my YouTube Channel if you liked this, I post videos every Sunday and I also try to post one during the week also.

 

x H

Leave a Reply

