How to make a healthy green smoothie

I am a firm believer that you get your summer beach bod in the winter and as hard as it is to keep away from the stodgy foods and cakes, I’m going to really try my hardest this winter. I also get super bad chapped lips in the winter and I mean super bad, it definitely doesn’t help that I have a habit of biting off the skin on my lips (ew I know). So I’m interested to see if by upping my vitamin intake over the winter it will help with my chapped lips and also with maintaining my weight and helping me get summer ready!

I came across a great green smoothie recipe on Lauren Conrads blog (http://laurenconrad.com/blog/2013/04/good-eats-3-busy-girl-breakfasts-overnight-oats-green-smoothie-allison-norton-2013/) which I LOVED the look of. However I’m not a massive fan of almond milk or coconut, plus I didn’t have any protein powder and I didn’t want to spend a huge amount of money on this one smoothie. So I altered the recipe slightly and came up with the amazing tasting recipe.

I was really surprised about how nice it was! I like fruit, however I have to admit I do find it hard eating it and I’m so happy to find a better way to get my 5 a day rather then having 3 applies and an orange lined up on my desk and gearing myself up to eating each one. This way you get about 4 of your 5 a day in one glass, plus the frozen fruit makes the smoothie really refreshing and would be perfect as a cooling drink in summer. Overall I am so impressed, the fruit, thickness (which I think is down to the frozen fruit and flaxseed) make this a really filling drink, I had this with a banana for my breakfast and I was full right up to lunch.

INGREDIENTS

one cup spinach

one cups frozen mango chunks

one cup frozen pineapple chunks

half a banana

25g of flax seed

1/2 a pint of water

DIRECTIONS

Blend spinach and water until smooth. Next, add the remaining fruits and blend again. Then drink up!

 

Please join me on any of my social networking and blogging sites:
YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvlPWliHbAPurj9iYiYH8MQ
Twitter: @hopebatchelor
Instagram: @Hopebatchelor

Happy smoothie making!

H x

p.s – one word of warning… this will make you fart like crazy and make them smell pretty bad! I put it down to the fibre in the flaxseed and the smoothie really cleaning out my system. But yeah it will make you fart like a trooper.

Leave a Reply

