The Fitness Diary: What I ate today #1


As we’re all settled into January and I can safely say my resolution of eating better and working out more is still in full swing (I can finally let a little sigh of relief) and I feel slightly more confident in putting my food and fitness diary out there to share with you all.

At the beginning of the year I decided I wanted to loose two stone and go down a dress size to a UK 8. Not an unrealistic goal seaming as I’m a size 10 and when I put my mind to it I find loosing weight pretty easy.

I wanted to give the 5:2 diet a go as I’ve heard some really good things about it – my dad’s partner actually lost 2 stone in 4 months! However I think the secret in making this diet work is to not go crazy on your “non-fast” days , if you’re having takeaways and sugary treats on the 5 day’s you’re not fasting then I’m guessing you won’t get your desired results! So I’m giving the diet a go, and aiming to eat healthy on my non-fast days too (but still allowing myself to have that slice of cake if I really want it) – a healthy happy balance.

For those of you who haven’t heard of the 5:2 diet, I’ll give you a little break down. Every week it’s 5 days of normal eating and two days of eating 500 calories (or 600 calories for men), you can read more about it here.

So welcome to my first of many daily blog posts on what I ate today! I hope you all enjoy coming along with me on my health and fitness journey and if anyone is doing something similar then let me know in the comments as I’d love to see what you’re doing to.

 

BREAKFAST – 9:45am 

photo 1

 

Mug of hot water (great for the digestive system)

Quaker Oats So Simple sachet – 100 calories

90ml of almond milk – 25 calories

2 teaspoons of sugar – 16 calories

Total calories: 141 calories

 

Working in an office Monday – Friday for me means I can’t always be creative with my breakfasts which can be dull as they do get repetitive. At the moment I am loving Quaker Oats So Simple sachets, they’re super easy  to make and really quick and easy for a desk breakfast. Supermarkets always seem to have these on offer so I end up buying lots of packets which unfortunately means a lot of my breakfasts will be the same… sorry guys.

 

LUNCH – 1:30pm

photo 2

photo 3

 

Chorizo crusted river cobbler with white cabbage and green beans

Chorizo crusted cobbler – 225 calories

White cabbage – 15 calories

Green beans – 23 calories

 

X2 Munch bunch yoghurts – 86 calories

Total: 349

 

I pretty much always bring left overs for lunch every day, so you’ll see a lot of duplicated meals on these posts. But it’s so cost efficient and makes lunch easy each day. I got this recipe from the Hairy Dieters book (which is amazing and I would recommend anyone to get !) Here’s the recipe, it’s so delicious.

 

Chorizo crusted river cobbler meal Info

Serves: 4 / 255 calories per portion

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cooking time: 20 minutes
Ingredients

  • 4 x 150g thick white fish fillets, such as haddock or cod, skinned
  • freshly squeezed juice and finely grated zest of 1Ž2 large lime
  • oil, for spraying
  • 100g chorizo sausage, skinned (if necessary) and cut into 1.5cm slices
  • 2 thick slices day-old white bread (about 100g), crusts removed
  • 1 garlic clove, finely sliced
  • 15g bunch of flatleaf parsley, leaves roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp finely grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1 tsp flaked sea salt, plus extra for seasoning
  • 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • extra lime wedges, to serve
  • freshly ground black pepper

Cooking Method

  1. There’s no doubt about it – chorizo is full of fat and calories. But we love it and it has such a great flavour that a little goes a long way. This is a version of a recipe we first cooked on a beach in Patagonia, but with a lower calorie count. Different types of chorizo vary in calories, but the lower-calorie versions will be about 300 calories per 100g, so choose those if you can.
  2. Put the fish in a non-metallic bowl and sprinkle the lime juice over it. Toss lightly, then cover and chill while you make the crust.
  3. Lightly mist a medium non-stick frying pan with oil and fry the chorizo over a medium heat for 1–2 minutes or until the fat begins to run, stirring regularly. Tear the bread into pieces (you should have about 65g after you’ve removed the crusts) and add it to the pan. Toss the bread with the chorizo and cook for 3 minutes more until the pieces are stained all over with the red fat, stirring. Tip it all on to a plate and leave to cool for 10 minutes. Preheat the oven to 200°C/Fan 180°C/Gas 6.
  4. Transfer the bread and chorizo to a food processor and blitz into crumbs. Add the garlic, lime zest, parsley, Parmesan, a teaspoon of the salt and lots of freshly ground black pepper, then process again to combine the ingredients thoroughly.
  5. Lightly mist a baking tray with oil and put the fish, skin-side down, on the tray with the marinating juices. Spoon the chorizo mixture on top of the fish fillets and press it on firmly. Bake for 15–18 minutes until the fish is cooked and the crust is crisp.
  6. Put the fish on warm plates, drizzle with the olive oil and sprinkle with a little more salt if you like. Serve with lime wedges for squeezing.

 

 

I’ve recently been pulling my ass to the gym every week day after work, which works out quite nice as I know I’ve got the weekend to relax. I’m a big lover of gym classes, the ones that push you to your breaking point are my favorite, I’m still trying to brave booking into spinning though…

I really wanted to do body pump tonight, I’m not sure what it actually involves, but there was a waiting list of 10 people and any class that is in that high demand I want to be on it! So I will definitely book in for next week before it gets fully booked. So instead I opted for the (quite easy) core stability class – it’s pretty much a bunch of sit ups for 30 minutes but still good fun.

I’ve done some pretty hard core work outs this week so I took it easy with that one class with the intention of pushing myself hard tomorrow.

 

DINNER – 8pm


photo 4

 

Tuna salad with red onion and beans – 161 calories

Another Hairy Dieters recipe (I really love their books, they’ve done a recipe for pretty much every dish you can think of and pretty much all of them are between 150 and 300 calories! I’m never normally that hungry when I come back from the gym so something quick, easy and light like this is perfect.

After dinner snack:

1 Pink Lady apple – 52 calories

2 tablespoons of peanut butter – 188 calories

Total: 240 calories

 

Daily total of calories: 891

2 thoughts on “The Fitness Diary: What I ate today #1

  1. I love the chorizo recipe! Good luck with your diet! 🙂 I’m trying a diet too, but very simply just eating healthy and less. And gym. Also a lot of green tea. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

