The Food and Fitness Diary: What I ate today #2

BREAKFAST – 10am

I had a bunch of urgent emails to reply to this morning so I ended up having breakfast at 10am… I know, bad right? I’ve realized I eat breakfast way too late in the morning and I need to break the habbit. I also realized I don’t drink any water until I have my mug of hot water in the office at 9am, this habbit is stopping today!

From now on I am going to set the alarm 5 minutes early (or not snooze it for the usual 10… let’s see how that goes) get downstairs and make myself a mug of hot water and lemon to drink whilst I’m getting ready for work. Breakfast will then be as soon as I get into the office which allows me time to have a healthy snack in between breakfast and lunch. I love a good routine, but it’s so much easier during the week to stick to so this new rule may have to wait until Monday as I’m definitely banking on a lay-in tomorrow morning.

photo 1

Quaker Oats So Simple Golden Syrup flavor – 186 calories

90ml Almond Milk – 14 calories

Total: 200 calories

This is by far my favourite flavor of the oat sachets. I never get sick of this even when I have it every day and at the calories I don’t think it’s half bad. Switching your milk to almond milk cuts down your calories massively. 100ml of semi skimmed milk has 50 calories whereas almond milk there’s only 14! You honestly would not be able to tell the difference either.

 

LUNCH – 1:30pm

Another left over meal for me, my tuna salad from last night. I love how simple this meal is and how much flavor there is! Keep an eye out for the dressings you use, they can be full of fat and sugar. I always make a simple dressing from white wine vinegar, a dash of oil, Dijon or English mustard, black pepper and a pinch of salt – a lot healthier for you and if you need slightly more then just add a dash of water to the mix.

I had to pop out at lunch to get some petrol and ended up impulse buying my favorite snack from the Marks & Spencer section of the petrol station – chili prawns. I was so gutted when I was too full to eat them after my salad! So as much as I wanted to eat them, I didn’t want to feel too full so back in the fridge they go for another day.

photo 2

Tuna salad – 161 calories

X2 munch bunch yoghurts – 88 calories

Total: 249 calories

 

SNACK – 3:30pm

Okay so I was weak, very weak (mentally might I add, not by any account physically).  My boss came in with a Victoria sponge cake and I caved into a slice, it was delicious so I’m not regretting it right now – ask me again tomorrow and it may be a different story. One of the great things about the 5:2 diet is that you can afford to have little treats on your non-fast days. I can definitely feel a difference in my thought towards food though. Before the 5:2 diet, I wouldn’t have had a second thought at helping myself to a second slice, now I’m thinking “if it was a fast day, my entire day’s worth of calories would be in less then two small slices – is it worth it?”. So although I’ve caved, I’m being more sensible with my slip ups.

photo 3

Small slice of victoria sponge cake – 297 calories

 

DINNER – 8pm

Today has just gone down hill, I’m kind of embarrassed to document it to be honest! My dad text me to see if I wanted to go to the cinema and dinner after work and as I haven’t seen him this week and Laurence was DJing tonight so I didn’t really want to spend the evening by myself I accepted the offer. However this does mean no gym session and also a pretty unhealthy dinner in comparison to the healthy meatballs I had planned this morning. But like I said, slip ups are allowed and although it hasn’t been a healthy day… It also hasn’t been the unhealthiest day.

It took me a long time to decide what I wanted from Wagamamas for dinner. I ALWAYS pick the chicken katsu curry, but I wanted to try something new, the katsu curry is also REALLY unhealthy. I’m a bit believer of eat healthy at home and if you go out for dinner don’t have the salad, live a little and have the burger you want. So although I am thinking about the calories (which is killing me) I’m shoving it to the back of my mind and enjoying my treat.

photo 4

photo 5

Wagamamas ginger chicken udon: 752 calories

Wagamamas chicken gyoza: 47 calories

calories taken from My Fitness Pal

 

I also had 4 glasses of prosecco with dinner (sorry, not sorry) and two home made gingersnap biscuits when I got home. This really has been a cheat day!

Prosecco x4 glasses: 400 calories

Gingersnap biscuits x2: 110 calories

 

Total of daily calories: 2061 calories

Today has really shown me how calories can add up when you go out for dinner and have a few drinks. I definitely did the right thing by having a salad for dinner, but next time I will cut out the cake and just have an evening of treats.

Leave a Reply

