My top 5 healthy foodie bloggers

If you follow my blog you will know that I am getting into health and fitness this year and there’s a big contributing factor to weightloss… and that is what food you put into your body. They say that when loosing weight, it’s 20% exercise and a whooping 70% food! My goal is to loose 2 stone (at the start of my ventures I was 11 stone and for my 5ft 5 frame it put me at the very highest that your BMI should be. You should have a BMI of 18.5-24.9 and I was nearly going over the 24.9 mark – not good). Don’t get me wrong I don’t exactly look overweight, I’m a size 10 and look in proportion, however I was just leading a really unhealthy lifestyle and it needed to stop.

Seeming as food is a big part of weight loss, I wanted to tackle this head on and start eating cleaner. As I’m a huge lover of baking also, I wanted to find some healthier alternatives to baking.

I could go on all day about cookbooks and blogs full of amazing healthy recipes that I’m loving on right now. However for now I’m just going to give you the run down of my top 5…

 

DELICIOUSLY ELLA

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 12.36.21

Deliciously Ella is a blog focused around natural, healthy food. If you are gluten intolerant or just looking to cut out some of the processed foods in your diet I would give some of her recipes a go. She also has her own book and mobile app out so she must be doing something right! I have given her raw brownies a go though and I do have to say I was not a massive fan of these… maybe stay clear of those.

 

OH SHE GLOWS

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 12.57.04

Oh She Glows celebrates Angelas love for vegan food. She also labels her recipes according to diet (gluten free, vegan etc.) Most of her recipes are free of gluten, soy and processed foods – great for a clean diet!

She’s also where I got my inspiration to start the food and fitness diary!

 

HONESTLY HEALTHY

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 13.11.06

This one is packed with practical advice and in-depth, but well explained, science behind the theory of eating an alkaline diet to improve health. The recipes are fantastic and are full of power foods that will boost your energy levels. When healthy food is this good it really makes you wonder if you could ever go back to putting processed food into your body. This blog also gives you beauty, fitness and love tips!

 

A COUPLE COOKS

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 13.14.56

Sonja and Alex are a writer and photographer husband and wife team. This blog is a project they started in 2010 to document their growing love for food and cooking. They started with the belief that anyone can learn to cook and that eating whole foods can change your life.

 

SUNDAY MORNING BANANA PANCAKES

8037391367_376be312f4

If you’ve ever considered going vegan — or follow a vegan diet and need new recipes — Heather of Sunday Morning Banana Pancakes is the inspiration you’re looking for.

 

On a final note… If you’re looking to shed some weight, I can not stress to you enough how important it is to firstly do it healthily (hit the gym, eat cleaner, don’t stop what you’re eating). Secondly to do it for yourself! Do it because you want to be healthier, because you want to feel strong, not because you want to impress anyone or look like Kim Kardashian. Do it for you.

H x

 

One thought on “My top 5 healthy foodie bloggers

Leave a Reply

