The Food and Fitness Diary: What I ate today #9

Day number two of fasting this week. I find it easier to do them both at the beginning of the week and get it over and done with. Plus I’m a big lover of making the most of your dinners and taking them for lunch the next day – you really do get more for your money, plus it helps you stick to your calorie controlled diet.

As usual I didn’t have breakfast on my fast day and I think its the first time since starting the diet that I’ve been really hungry and to be honest I don’t mind it too much. I quite like the feeling that I’ve got strong will power by not caving in (especially when everyone in the office love a good snack! There’s currently cupcakes on our communal table which could be deadly if I let it get to me).

 

Lunch – 1:15pm

get-attachment.aspx

 

Veggie Bean Burgers with Gem Lettuce Salad and Creamy Mango Sauce: 237 Calories

Diet Coke: 1 Calorie

Hartley’s No Added Sugar Strawberry Jelly Pot: 5 calories

 

TOTAL: 243 calories

You can tell I’m such a creature of habit right? I don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t have something sweet after lunch so these jelly pots are just perfect for that sweet hit but within my calorie limits. As usual I had my trusty diet coke on the side and my left overs from last night. Overall it was a pretty successful lunch!

 

No workout today unfortunately – I had all good intentions, I was even booked into boxercise and planning to attend with my best friend after work, however she’s ill today and another friend text me to see if I wanted to meet her for a catch up after work. I’m going to make up for it with an hour of circuits tomorrow followed by an hour spin class – eep!

 

Dinner – 8:30pm

get-attachment-1.aspx

 

Mushroom and Chickpea Stew: 246 Calories

TOTAL CALORIES: 246

Credit for this Delicious meal goes to the blog Deliciously Ella. Click here for the recipe: http://deliciouslyella.com/recipe/mushroom-chickpea-stew/

I was looking through the hairy dieters cookbooks for inspiration for tonight’s dinner and I really wanted to use up things I had at home instead of going out to buy stuff. I came across this recipe and I had just brought a load of chickpeas and mushrooms the other day, plus we always have cans of chopped tomatoes in the house so it seemed like fate to make this! Laurence was not overly-keen on the idea when I presented it to him, he has a bit of an issue with having stews without meat and I think he doesn’t like the idea of having a vegan meal however after last nights veggie burgers, I managed to convince him to give it a go as he really liked them! I’m slowly trying to convince him that vegan meals are pretty tasty and super good for you.

This meal was great though, a real success! All the spices and flavor combinations worked brilliantly and you honestly couldn’t tell there was no meat involved. To be honest I think a lot of the time meat get’s lost in stews as you end up putting so much other stuff in it so I think we’ll be giving a few more like this a go in the future.

DAILY CALORIE COUNT: 489

Here’s to the start of more vegan and gluten free meals!

H x

Leave a Reply

