Top travel tips everyone should know

In the past 3 years I have really upped the amount of places I’ve been to (I worked it out and since I met Laurence, we’ve visited an average of 10 new countries a year!) and in turn I’ve been able to pick up some really useful tips for traveling. It would be completely pointless for me to have a travel blog and not share these with you!

So I’ve picked my top tips to share with you all. Here goes…

  • Carry on is your best friend
    The great thing about living in the UK is that we’re super close to so many amazing European countries – most are only a couple of hour flight away. Making it super ideal for a little weekend get away, which Laurence and I seem to do FAR too often – hey, I’m not complaining!
    When you’re only going away for 3 days, I’ve realized its so pointless checking a bag in. You end up loosing at least 15 minutes the other end and theres the added risk your bag could get lost. So make your carry on your go to travel bag! You’d be surprised about how much you can fit in a small suitcase – seriously. You also don’t need over 100ml of ay product when you’re away for a weekend. Some airlines also allow 2 bags so that’s an added bonus if you can have your suitcase plus your rucksack or handbag.
  • Plan your bag
    If you’re like me and you love clothes and shoes and jewelery and bags and makeup and, well we could be here a while…. Then the thought of packing just a carry on can be a little frightening, but trust me, it doesn’t have to be. The best way to get everything into your bag is to plan plan plan. Before I pack I will write a list about a week before of everything I need, put it aside and not look at it until a day or so before we fly. I will then go over it all and the odds are, I’ve put something on the list that I don’t need. Taking your hair dryer? Email your hotel and see if they already have one, if they don’t, get yourself a little travel one instead – they take up way less space and can been pretty powerful. They’re also quite cheap, I picked up mine from Argos for £12.99 – BARGIAN.
    Another tip for your planning is to plan all your outfits (yes I’m talking to you ladies!), work out what you’re going to wear each day and pack that along with one or two extra tops just encase. I used to pack so many clothes but now I plan my outfits I have so much more room in my bag!
    TOP TIP research into the weather – add the country onto your weather app so you know what type of clothes to plan for.
  • Plastic bag it up
    Don’t be that person in the security line who hasn’t put their liquids in a little plastic bag – like seriously, we’ve had this 100ml rule for quite a while now, how do you not know to do it? Get them all ready in the bag AT HOME, this will also speed up YOUR security experience, meaning more time for duty free 😉
    TOP TIP some airports give out plastic bags for free – take a bunch of them! Then store them away when you get home, you will need them for your next flight and it makes things super easier. Plus you can then be that kind person who can offer someone a bag when they’ve not been as super prepared as you.
  • Don’t buy empty plastic bottles for your liquids!
    When you next stay in a hotel, take home the little minis with you. They’re always under 100ml and you can reuse the bottle for your products for your next trip.
    TOP TIP if your hotel has free shower caps also take those with you too. They are great to put over your shoes in your suitcase to protect them from shampoo explosions or even your heels snagging your favorite knit.
  • Take some snacks for the plane
    I’ve had a lot of people question this one but let me tell you, you CAN take food on a plane – just not liquids. I like to get a bag of sweets and some crisps to put in my bag for when we get puckish on the plane or our sugar levels go down. You will thank me for this later.
  • Head to the airport lounge…
    I have a special American Express card which allows me to have a free Priority Pass card which allows you access to airport lounges! Hello free food, wine and beer! If you were to buy one it isn’t very expensive (you can get a pass for around £69 a year) and it means you don’t have to worry about not getting a seat, they’re always super calm and have free wifi. Definitely worth it.
  • The trick so you only need to take ONE adaptor…
    I think this is by far my favorite tip I’ve picked up. Instead of taking hundreds of adaptors, just take one and an extension cable! Hurrah! You can now charge your laptop, phone and camera whilst straightening your hair.
  • Offline your Spotify top playlists
    I used to always forget that you don’t get signal up in the sky and also when your 3G is off in the other country… plan before and make yourself some playlists on Spotify and offline them so you can listen to your tunes at any time.
  • Offline your Google maps
    Want to know were you’ve booked your dinner but don’t want to turn on your 3G? You can easily save locations to your Google maps then offline the map so you can find them without 3G! Your GPRS also works even with your 3G off so your little blue dot on your maps will follow you around so you can easily see if you’re heading in the right direction. Don’t ask me how that happens, it amazes me!
  • Rent your way to a cheaper holiday
    I’ve recently had my first Airbnb experience in Copenhagen and LOVED IT. If you haven’t heard of it, it’s where you can rent out an apartment, room or house from a resident of the area for a fraction of the cost of a hotel. I realized we spent a lot of money on hotels and we were literally just there to sleep, so Airbnb is a great way to save some money. Plus you can get some good tips from the owner of places to go!
    Equally if you live in the US or if you’re planning a trip around the US, there’s a similar site called RelayRides where you can rent people’s cars directly from them. A peer-to-peer car sharing service. A great alternative to big car rental costs. RelayRides are also expanding their airport rental areas – so you can easily arrange your ride at the airport – handy ay?

I definitely did not expect this post to go on this much! Wow I have shared a lot with you.

All these tips have made my traveling so much easier and if you haven’t tried any of them before then definitely give them a go because you would be so surprised at how these little changes can save you so much time and money.

Let me know if you have any great tips that I’ve missed out – I’d love to hear what you think.

H x

Leave a Reply

