Healthy Recipes On My To-Make List

Over the past 6 months I’ve got A LOT more into cooking, finding and creating super healthy recipes in particular. There’s always something new I find on Pinterest or other healthy food and fashion bloggers that I want to give a go. So here are a few new recipes I’ve found that I wanted to share with you all. I’ll let you know the verdict on how they are once I’ve made them!

BREAKFASTS

Amelia’s Gluten & Dairy Free Crepes:

Amelia has to be one of my favourtie beauty bloggers, she is so funny and awkwardly loveable! When I stumbled across this recipe on her blog I just had to add it into this post. I’m trying to find a new pancake recipe that makes brunching guilt free and this is a step in the right direction. I tried a quinoa protein pancake recipe the other day which was just awful, so fingers crossed this is much better. Sunday brunch watch out!

Suzies Breakfast Bowl:

Another beauty blogger recipe – I think the pretty blog pictures just get me hooked! I’ve been wanting to make an Acai bowl for ages now, but it’s really hard to get hold of the pulp at a reasonable price here in the UK. So when I found this recipe on Suzies blog I thought it was a great alternative. I’ve got a lot going on this Saturday, so this will be the perfect breakfast to set me up for the day.

 

LUNCHES & DINNERS

Chipotle Quinoa Sweet Potato Burgers:

I think it’s a great idea to try and be meat free at least one day a week. If you spoke to me 6 months ago I would have really struggled to put together a meal that’s not based around fish or meat. But there’s so many amazing recipes out there that are meat free, I especially like dishes that feel like you’re eating meat or something naughty but in fact is the opposite. So when I saw the recipe for these meat-free burgers I was drooling.

Carrots with Black Garlic & Herb Yoghurt:

HOW CAN CARROTS LOOK SO SEXUAL?! Seriously?! I love carrots so much, they’re definably in my top 10 veg, so when I came across this I didn’t need to think twice before pinning it to my ‘Finger Lickin Good’ board on Pinterest. Another meat free dinner coming my way!

Pan-fried Red Lentil Patties:

The more I go through my Pinterest board to find the recipes I’ve recently pinned, the more I realize most of the recipes are meat free! Who knew?! Here’s another delicious looking recipe of pattie-like burgers. These would be amazing with a simple greek salad or even put into pita breads for a more carb heavy lunch if you’re doing an evening work out. Yum.

SNACKS

Suzies Mint Chocolate Breakfast Smoothie:

I know it says breakfast in the title… but I struggle with smoothies for breakfast, I like to bite into something. So instead I see this as more of a post workout snack in the early afternoon. If I do a morning work out (which I normally do on a Saturday and Sunday), I struggle with eating before and after, but waiting till lunch to eat is just way too long. So a smoothie like this is the perfect option. More of a brunch smoothie I guess. For added protein I will be adding in a few scoops of my protein powder though.

SAVORY CHICKPEA PANCAKES WITH SMOKY ROASTED CARROTS:

I was watching a cooking program with Rachel Khoo and she made these little savory pancakes called Soccas using chickpea flour which I found really interesting. She topped them with lots of different things and I found this recipe after where they’re topped with smokey roasted carrots. They sounded amazing and I thought these would be great as a canape at a party. Unfortunately we’re not hosting any parties any time soon so instead we will have to make them as a little snack 🙂

 

SWEET TREATS

Dorayaki:

I was just as clueless when I first heard of it! When I left the office to get myself some sushi for lunch and did the manditory “Would anyone like anything?” rounds and my colleague said “bring me back a surprise”, this is what I brought back for him. It’s a Japanese desert of red bean paste sandwiched between two pancakes. I’ve always seen them in sushi restaurants but never thought about having them. I’m so glad I brought it for him though, they’re so damn tasty and not as bad for you as I thought! I brought the custard filled one, however the more traditional one is the red bean paste, which I will be going for next time. As soon as I took the first bite, I was searching for recipes straight away! Surely enough, Pinterest came to my rescue.

Gluten Free & Vegan Rice Crispy & Peanut Butter Chocolate Bars:

GIMMIE GIMMIE GIMMIE! I’m potentially going to the Zoo on Sunday and odds are we will be taking a picnic – these little things will be a beautiful addition. I love anything chocolate and peanut based so this is going to be AMAZING. Although they’re not exactly good for you, if you are going to have something bad, I believe you should do it in the best way. So having a high cocoa postage chocolate and using things like maple syrup and coconut oil are really great alternatives to butter and sugar.

 

I’m always looking for new recipes, especially healthy versions of things, so if you know of any then please do share!

H x

3 thoughts on “Healthy Recipes On My To-Make List

Leave a Reply

